Friday, August 23, 2013

Eiki Helgason Interview!!!



Name: Eiki Helgason
Age: 25
From: Akureyri, Iceland
Current Residens: Monte Carlo, Monaco
Sponsors:
Lobster Snowboards
Oakley Apparel & Goggles
Monster Energy
Hoppipolla Headwear
Coloud Headphones
NEFF Gloves
7-9-13 Belts
Switch Back Bindings
DVS
Frontline
Kaleidoscope Skateboards
Fast & Dangerous
Spot Digger App

Website: http://www.helgasons.com/
Facebook: www.facebook.com/Eikihelgason.1
Instagram: @eikih87
Twitter: @eikih87

The new Sexual Snowboarding video is titled DTF, can you explain what that stands for?
- It stands for "Down To Film." But most people think it's "Down To Fuck." I am really happy with my season so I'm definitely looking forward to seeing all my footage.

What other video projects do you have in the works?
- I am also filming for the new Transworld Snowboarding movie called "Nation."


Last year I rode your pro model Switchback bindings and loved them. Can you tell me how you went about designing your pro model and what changes you've made from last year's to this year's?
- It's basically the same binding but with different graphic, I'm so happy with how they work so I didn't wanna change a thing.

What type of Icelandic foods do you crave when you're away traveling that you look forward to coming home to?
- Icelandic Pizza, Ice cream From Brynja & Icelandic Candy.

How did you get into snowboarding initially? What was your first set up?
- I started Skateboarding before and I loved it, so when the winter came I had to buy a snowboard and got hooked on it right away, My first setup was Scott USA 147 I don't remember the binding & boots.

Do you have any other projects or companies you're working on that you can talk about right now?
- No, it's enough with 4 companies at the moment, Lobster Snowboards, 7/9/13 Belts, Hoppipolla Headwear & Switchback Bindings. Check Them Out:
http://www.lobstersnowboards.com/
http://sevennine13.com/
http://hoppipollaheadwear.com/
http://www.switchbackbindings.com/

Before you got sponsored and got paid to ride a snowboard, did you have any normal type of job?
- Yes, I was a construction worker and Cleaned some fishing machines with high pressure water.

Other than snowboarding, what type of things are you into at the moment?
- Skateboarding and chilling on the beach.


What type(s) of music are you listening to currently?
- I love Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd and that kinda rock, but now I am listening a lot to the new Sigur Ros album "Kveikur," it's a Banger.

Any words of wisdom you'd like to share with the internet people out there?
- Enjoy your live!

Photos: petterfoshaug.com for hoppipolla headwear

Monday, August 12, 2013

Halldór Helgason Interview!!!



What video projects are you working on currently?
- I'm filming for the Nike movie Never Not and our Sexual snowboarding movie DTF.

What exactly is "pepping?"
- It's being pumped and stoked at the same time hehe, something like that.

Growing up in Iceland, what was your childhood like? What things were you into before you found snowboarding?
- Pretty normal, hanging out with friends doing all the classic stupid stuff, then when I turned 8 years old I started skating, and then when I was 9 I started snowboarding.

I've seen that you're now wearing Nike goggles, any info you can share on those?
-Not much info yet!, but the goggles and sunglasses are looking sick, and I'm really stoked to be a part of that program.

How much of a role did you have in designing Switchback bindings?
- Me and Eiki tested the prototype bindings one year before they came to stores and told them what had to be changed and made stronger...so that was pretty much our role, then I designed my whole promodel binding with the wing on the highback.


What types of music have you been into as of late? Have you been out to see any bands/shows recently?
- Went to see Megadeth in London, that was sick, but then I'm just listening to pretty much everything...

Outside of snowboarding, what types of things might we find you doing on a regular basis?
- Skating, chilling, partying , thats pretty much all I do.

Are there any other new companies/projects you have in the works that you can share with us?
- Nothing that I can tell you about...

Before becoming a professional snowboarder, did you ever work a normal type of job?
- Yeah, I was a construction worker for one summer when I was 16, and I'm stoked to have done that because now I know how lucky I am to be able to have snowboarding as my job...


What are some of your goals you want to achieve at this point in life?
- Live and have as much fun as possible.

Let's wrap this up, any closing comments or shout outs?
-Keep snowboarding real!

Photos: petterfoshaug.com for hoppipolla headwear

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Summer Breeze...

I have the pleasure of enjoying two weeks of paid time off a year. This week is my second of the year, so I'm doing my best to relax and enjoy the time off with my family and do some things I like to do. I took my girls to a few parks yesterday, today is a chill at home kinda day thus far...we may end up at another park later though. Tomorrow my wife and I are going to the Pirates game while my parents watch the girls. I'm hoping to get a few hours of skating in this week sometime too. I think on Friday we're hitting up Kennywood. I'm sure there will be some unexpected fun experiences that come up before my week off is over too. 

I've been letting my extreme dork side takeover as of late and I'm starting to get into Warhammer. I made my first of many army purchases a week ago, and I just finished assembling them. Next up is the painting process, we'll see how that goes. In other dorky news I've been catching up on a lot of TV that's been stacking up on the DVR...Nikita, Under the Dome, Once Upon a Time, Orphan Black, Continuum..all good stuff that'll hold me over until the Fall when all of the new shows start up. 

In the next few days I'll be posting a little interview I just did with Halldór Helgason. And then after that I'll be posting the one I did with his brother Eiki. Words cannot justify how happy I am to be in touch with these two genuine snowboarders. 

Now I'm off to prime some miniatures, dorkiness.